Skip to content

My RPG Adventure Game Part 2

by on March 22, 2014

After several attempts at getting this started, I’ve finally got a working character creation in place.

I don’t know if my method to get it working is “the right way” to do it, but everyone needs to start somewhere right?

I decided to use the Settings to store my character details (Stats, Level, Hitpoints, etc). This made it easy for me to create the character and then save the details. Here’s a screenshot of how it looks right now:

As you can see, I went with group boxes to display all of my relevant data.

The inventory system isn’t currently functioning. I’m working on that right now. Hoping to have it all implemented by the end of next week (depending on how much time i get to sit down and do stuff). I decided to try and allow the user to decide what equipment they wanted to start with, hopefully I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew for my first project. My problem is working out how to get a working inventory and then a working shop. Since I need a place to store items before I create a shop to buy them from. I’m guessing the way to go is to use a List<>, but never having worked with this before, means figuring out how it works and how I can use it to do what I want it to do.  If anyone has any suggestions/tips/tricks/pitfalls to avoid then please by all means post them in the comments.

In the character creation usercontrol, I added some validation checks to ensure that the user had filled in their name, selected a class, etc. Since the stats use a race modifier to create a total, the roll dice button will not generate the stats until all other options have been set.

Once the rolls have been made, it sends those over to the Default.Settings and displays them immediately in the character sheet on the left most group box section. It also calculates the amount of hitpoints and starting money, etc.

All in all, given the time I get to spend on this (usually a few hours a week at most), I’m quite happy with the outcome of my character creation so far. I’m sure there are many ways to make it better, but for now I would like to get a working game going. Then I can begin to find ways to optimise it so it functions even better and runs much more efficiently. Having already restarted this project several times over, I’m not adverse to having to start over from scratch again if I have to. I find the coding a lot of fun and as I learn new ways to do things, I enjoy implementing those new things and seeing the end result work the way I want it to.

From → C#, Game Design

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

NE1 Atoll

The Official blog of NE1 Games

Selenium for .Net using C# language

Adventures in Coding, gaming and other fun things in my life

Coded UI 101 - Understanding Coded UI Tests

Adventures in Coding, gaming and other fun things in my life